Make your own free website on Tripod.com
sandyford entrance Sandyford
Transwomen Support Group
woman
Home
Support Group
Journey through Sandyford
Changing Documents
Safety
Domestic Abuse
Third Party Reporting
News & Events
For Family and Friends
Books of Interest
Films of Interest
Glossary
Links

Links 

Scottish Support Groups (Updated 09/03/12)
Name Ethos Website/Contact
Caledonian Counties Trans Group Group started up in Perthshire fionaofperth@btinternet.com
Central Scotland TG Group Dunblane based support group  www.transgenderscotland.org
Clydebank LGBT Social Group - NEWNew LGBT Social Group within Dalmuir/Clydebankclydebanklgbt@yahoo.co.uk
Clyde Valley LGBT Group LGBT group serving West Dunbartonshire clydevalleylgbt@yahoo.co.uk
Crosslynx Group Glasgow based Transgender support group www.crosslynx.org.uk
Website down at present.
Crosslynx Helpline Glasgow based Helpline for those who feel they may be transgendered. http://cxhelpline.tripod.com
Edinburgh Trans-women’s Group Edinburgh based support group for Trans-women www.edinburghtranswomen.org.uk
North East Support Trans Aberdeen based support network  www.nestsupport.co.uk
Polygender Scotland Edinburgh based support group for all androgyne & polygender people www.androgyny.org.uk
Stirling TG Group (Formerly known as the West Lothian TV/TS Group) - Website down at present. Buchlyvie based support group gladyspaterson2@yahoo.co.uk
Swans of Scotland Support group for transgender people in Inverness  www.spanglefish.com/swansofscotland
Transmen Scotland A self-help Support group for all female to male transgender people www.transmenscotland.org.uk
Transtay Dundee support group run by Diversitay www.diversitay.org.uk
Trans Youth Glasgow (TYG) - NEWFor young people who identify as transgenderMichael.Richardson@lgbtyouth.org.uk

   Relevant Scottish Organisations
Name Ethos Website
Disclosure Scotland  Information on disclosure regarding Transgender people www.disclosurescotland.co.uk/publications
Equality and Human Rights Commission (Scotland) Equality Issues www.equalityhumanrights.com/scotland
Equality-Network  Campaigns for LGBT equality in Scotland www.equality-network.org
Glasgay Exhibitions of LGBT items. Host of annual celebration of queer culture. www.glasgay.com
LGBT Centre for Health & Wellbeing Promotes healthy lifestyles and improve accessibility of health services.  www.lgbthealth.org.uk
LGBT Youth Scotland Provides a range of services and opportunities for LGBT young people www.lgbtyouth.org.uk
National LGBT Forum Forum set up by Equality Network for LGBT people www.scottishlgbt.org
Parents Enquiry (Scotland) Provides support and information  for relations of LGBT people www.parentsenquiryscotland.org
Sandyford Offers a wide range of health services including Gender Identity www.sandyford.org
Scottish Police Forces  Website giving links to all Scottish Police forces www.scottish.police.uk
Scottish Transgender Alliance  Campaigns to develop good practice on transgender equality issues www.scottishtrans.org
Strathclyde Gay & Lesbian Switchboard (SGLS) Confidential helpline for LGB people www.sgls.co.uk
Strathclyde Police   Covers Glasgow and surrounding areas www.strathclyde.police.uk
Stonewall - Scotland Campaigns for Equality and Justice for LGBT people www.stonewallscotland.org.uk
Unison - Scotland Scottish section of the Trade Union - LGBT pages www.unison-scotland.org.uk/lgbt/index.html
West of Scotland LGBT Forum (New) Umbrella organisation, which brings together groups & individuals representing LGBT people www.woslgbt.org.uk
top

English Support Groups
Name Ethos Website
Beaumont Society UK wide support network for all transgender people www.beaumontsociety.org.uk
Beaumont Trust UK wide support network for all transgender people www.beaumont-trust.org.uk
Change    UK based support group www.ts1change.com
Depend Provides support, advice for anyone who is related to a Transsexual person www.depend.org.uk
F to M Network  UK Support network for all female to male Transgender people www.ftm.org.uk
Gendys Network    UK based network for all Transgender people and their families www.gender.org.uk/gendys
Gender Trust   Carries details of regional support www.gendertrust.org.uk
Gender Identity Research and Education Society (Gires)   UK based group which seeks to improve how society treats Trans people www.gires.org.uk
Looking Glass Society Informative Transgender website, although society itself is no longer in existence www.looking-glass.greenend.org.uk
Mermaids   Support group for young people trying to cope with gender identity issues www.mermaids.freeuk.com
Northern Concord Manchester based self-help group for Transgender people www.northernconcord.org.uk
top

Relevant English Organisations
Name Ethos Website
Acas   Employment arbitrator www.acas.org.uk
Equality and Human Rights Commission (England) Equality Issues www.equalityhumanrights.com
Gender Recognition Panel Where to apply for the Gender Recognition Certificate www.grp.gov.uk
Press for Change  Transgender Lobbying group www.pfc.org.uk
Roses Repartee Transgender magazine punblished quarterly roses.repartee.tv
Transequality NEW Part of Press for Change www.transequality.co.uk
Transgender Zone Web site with a host of useful information www.transgenderzone.com
Unison - National UK site of the Trade Union www.unison.org.uk/out/index.asp
Wayout Guide Published yearly - also known as the Tranny Bible www.wayout-publishing.com

top

oOo


Copyright Sandyford Transwomen Support Group 2009